The Path of a Solder Man-Turning AC to DC

Previously in my adventures in soldering, I assembled an FM Radio from a Velleman kit that I bought from Radioshack.  It works great when powered by an AC power adapter and the correct tip type.  My problem is that I had to borrow the adapter from Radioshack to get it to work since I don’t own a 12V adapter myself.  I can’t make an adapter myself at my current level,so the next best thing for me to do is to make a DC adapter.  It is quite easy to make, all you need are a few supplies.

You will need:

a size N Coaxial DC Power Plug

Size N Power Adapter

a snap connector for a 9V battery

Snap connector

a battery holder for eight double AA batteries

Battery holder

-standard soldering tools such as a soldering iron, solder, wire strippers

Step one: Solder the wires to the power plug terminals

Similar to my post on fixing headphones, we shall start by passing the wires through the plastic  hollow.  Once that happens, make sure to solder the wires to the ring terminals of the power plug.  The red cable soldered on the smaller terminal and the ground soldered on the larger terminal.

Solder to terminals

Step two: snap the snap connector to the battery holder

Ensure that the positive and negative connect to the correct snap terminals (it should only fit one way).

Snap to the holder

Step three: Insert batteries and connect to device

Finished!

Insert eight AA batteries in the battery holder.  It should be running at 12V, enough to power on the radio.  Congratulations, the contraption should work!  Try it out and let us know what you think by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

