App of the Week-1Mobile

Friends, Romans, countrymen, I was wrong.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m wrong almost everyday but on this one occasion, I was definitely wrong.  In what occasion was I wrong?  Recall a few months ago when I first started out my blog by reviewing one of my new toys, the Kindle Fire HD.  In this review, I mentioned one of the dislikes I had for the tablet was the fact that I could not download an app from a different app market than the Amazon App store.  I was under the impression that any app I tried downloading from the Google Play store or Apple App Store would be unsuccessful due to incompatibility in the software.  Boy was I wrong.

I’m a regular reader of Andrys Basten’s blog entitle A Kindle World Blog and when I came across her blog post that told the world how to access third-party apps on the Kindle Fire models, I just had to drop what I was doing and try out her advice on my Kindle Fire HD.  Unfortunately, I was using my tablet to read her post so in the midst of things I accidentally bumped my HD with the ground though it is still working fabulously (Amazon really knows how to build their stuff!).

The particular advise I followed from Andrys basten’s blog was the portion where I went into my settings, tap the more button, then tap the device button, and finally checked the box that said Allow Installation of Applications from unknown sources.  From then on, my Kindle no longer held a 3rd party download app restriction.  This meant that if I had the right program/app, I can download the wonderful apps already available on the Google Play Store and Apple App Store but sadly not available on the Amazon App Store.

1Mobile App store
1Mobile App store

I decided to use 1mobile to download third-party apps.  It is very easy to use.  First thing you do would be to go to the 1mobile website and download the app to download the app (Yo Dawg).  Once it shows up in your app selection screen, open it up and take a minute to explore the wonderful ease of the app.  The layout is very similar to the Google Play Store in that you search through categories, view the feature apps or top rated, and even search the app if you already know the name.  First app I downloaded on 1mobile was the Curiosity Game app I wrote about earlier (so addicting).  I then opened the app and guess what, it worked perfectly.  In fact, it worked better than the app installed on my Android device due to the fact that my HTC Thunderbolt has a habit of shutting down the app after a few seconds.

Have any other ways of downloading 3rd-party apps on to your mobile device?  Teach us your tricks by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

